The ancient name of Perito was Terrae Piretii is situated on a hill that dominates the whole valley of Alento River. There are traces of an ancient Greek community in the area where the ancient town, Perito – Sottano, was. The landscape is rich of woods and parks.
In this town there was the biggest production of the famous gun powder of Cilento (the large mortars in which it was produced are still there).
San Nicola church is very interesting.
The event “Vasci portuni e pertose” is very nice: the historical houses are open to visitors; there are shows, meetings and artistic performances. Visitors can taste the typical products (August).
Monuments and natural beauties...
- Fontana dei pizzi, a fountain
San Donato Chapel
Madonna del Monte Chapel
Sant’Antonio Abate Chapel
Santa Maddalena Chapel
San Nicola Church
Selva Dei Santi, Montagna Serra, Lufrone and Fontana woods
Ruins of a Benedictine monastery
Perito is the ancient Pirillo Suttano, it was called Presuttano. It was a small village and after its destruction Perito was founded around 1200 at the top of the hill.
The name Perito maybe comes from the fact that Pirillo Suttano had been destroyed (was "perito" in Italian).
But maybe the name comes from “pere” (pears), because pears were cultivated in that hamlet. A third hypothesis says that the name comes from "selce piromaca" that is the stone used to obtain fire and gun powder. In fact in this town there was the biggest production of the famous gun powder of Cilento (the large mortars in which it was produced are still there).
A legend tells that the inventor of the gun powder, hidden in a bush, tried the powder on a monk who was passing. This is why the town was called also “the town of bloodthirsty people”.
In 1861 Perito became an autonomous municipality. Inhabitants took part to Risorgimento and in Perito brothers Capozzoli were caught.